How To Remove The Share Features On Unlisted YouTube Videos

Remove share from unlisted youtube videos

Unfortunately, this is a completely public video of mine.

If you’ve got an unlisted video, chances are you don’t want people sharing the link to it.  Maybe it’s in a members area of your website.  Maybe it’s just a really embarrassing video of you in a thong bikini and a party hat on your head…. sir.

But when you embed the video on your own site, it still shows up with sharing features if you use the standard embed code.

 

What You’ll Learn

  • The embed code to use for hiding YouTube share features
  • How to use each of the controls in the embed code

I picked up a cool tip from my new friend Chris Rockett over at Music Marketing Classroom with some code adjustments to remove the share features on unlisted youtube videos.

<iframe src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/YOURVIDEOCODEHERE?controls=1&showinfo=0&autoplay=1&rel=0&border=0″ height=”400″ width=”710″ frameborder=”0″>

Be sure to include your video code where shown.  That’s the string of numbers and letters at the end of the regular URL for your video.  The other controls are used as follows:

controls= … 1 turns on the controls (like play/pause and the time bar), 0 turns them off.  Useful if you don’t want them to be able to scan through.  Force them to watch your whole little bikini dance. They’ll still have access to play and pause by clicking the video itself.

showinfo= …Set this to 0 to turn off the sharing and info features.  1 turns them on.

autoplay=… Set this to 1 to have the video autoplay when they get to the page. 0 means they have to click play.

rel= … Set this to 0 to not include related videos after the current one plays.  1 will give related videos.

So, there ya go.  Keep those unlisted videos unlisted.  Because for Pete’s sake, nobody needs to see you in a bikini, dude.


Comments

How To Remove The Share Features On Unlisted YouTube Videos — 3 Comments

    • Sorry, that one I don’t have an answer for. Do you mean you’re trying to send them to a different video if they’ve already watched the original one x number of times? An interesting trick, but I don’t know how to do that one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *